Praise for Fledgling

I am grateful to everyone who has taken the time to read Fledgling and write a review. Thank you so much to you all! I've included a selection below:

“A quirky, adventurous fantasy debut with a wonderful setting and a numinous hint of David Almond’s Skellig.” 

Imogen Russell Williams, The Guardian

 

“Featuring angels, owls and family secrets, this is a thrilling historical mystery.” 

Charlotte Heathcote, The Daily Express

 

“An ethereal tale of love and hope.” 

Marianne Levy, The i Newspaper

"Fledgling is reminiscent of David Almond's Skellig, gothic and surreal without being scary. There are creepy vibes throughout, with even the house itself seeming somehow alive."

Louise Widdowson, 'The School Librarian' The Quarterly Journal of the School Library Association, Spring 2022

"Fledgling is a story that will suck you in from the very beginning, and make it very hard for you to put the book down. I would definitely recommend it to any children aged 9+ who enjoy dark mysteries, and can't wait to read Lucy's next book already!"

Evie Bath, age 10, The Book Nook in Hove

"The setting is magical and the energy surrounding it is fantastic. The plot is wonderfully gripping and hooking and the character development was outstanding. Overall, Fledgling is amazing, and I love it very much!

Elouise, age 13. Tetbury
 

“Fledgling is a startlingly original and eerily atmospheric tale, perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge. I was thoroughly captivated, and utterly blindsided by the ending.” 

Rebecca Rouillard, school librarian and book blogger

 

"Magical but in an ethereal way, a rich evocative setting, boundless imagination and a sense of wonder. All I can say is read it!"

Hannah Gold, author of The Last Bear

 

"I gobbled this up! Rich, enthralling story set in the Bavarian Forest. It glimmers with celestial magic and ancient secrets, and will be vivid in my mind for a good while yet.”

Nicola Penfold, author of Where the World Turns Wild

"Nicely twisty and atmospheric. I love a story with a dark edge, and Lucy Hope has delivered impressively with Fledgling. 9-year-old me would have loved to live in the Engel family home!"

Lesley Parr, author of The Valley of Lost Secrets

 

"This is a truly beautiful work of art which flutters like a surreal dream. Heavenly.”

ReadingZone 

"With a nod to David Almond’s Skellig, Lucy Hope’s debut is strange and haunting, daring, sometimes demanding but always compelling."

LoveReading4Kids

 

"Lucy Hope’s ‘Fledgling’ is a phenomenal accomplishment: atmospheric, otherworldly and beautiful. Like a Gothic fairy-tale or a rapturous fever-dream, it takes flight and soars with twists and turns that will mesmerise, horrify and delight.”

Chris Soul (blog)

 

“You’ll find likely find yourself unable to put it down once you start reading.”

Red Reading Hub (blog)

"A beautiful book of winter, magic and song."

Sarah Todd Taylor, author of Max the Detective Cat series

"Oh my heart!! I just finished reading this gorgeousness by Lucy Hope and I'm a bit bereft now. It's dark and beatuful and full of love, hope, dread, tears and secrets. A perfect, winter-y read."

Aislinn O'Loughlin

"Fledgling is a page-turning adventure, totally different in feel to anything I’ve read for ages.”

The Book Activist (blog)